Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry's Brandon Lineberry Named To VaSID All-State Second Team

Emory & Henry's Brandon Lineberry Named To VaSID All-State Second Team

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – Emory & Henry College senior outfielder Brandon Lineberry has been named to the 2016 VaSID All-State College Division Baseball Team, VaSID officials announced Friday. The Hillsville, Virginia native wins All-Virginia honors for the second year in a row.

Lineberry adds all-state honors to his résumé as he was also selected to the All-ODAC Firs Team, the All-South Region Second Team and the ABCA/Rawlings All-South Region Third Team. In 2015, the Carroll County High School graduate was an All-State First Team pick.

Lineberry led the Wasps in every offensive category including batting average (.344), at bats (154), hits (53), runs (34), doubles (19), home runs (10), RBI (41), walks (19), on-base percentage (.418) and slugging (.662). Lineberry finishes his career as the season-leader in doubles (19), second in home runs in a season (10) and third in career home runs (19). He had a 17-game hitting streak between March 16 and April 16 which ranks third on the all-time list.

Randolph-Macon College took home three of the four major awards as third baseman Travis Lodge was named State Player of the Year and James Walsh was honored as State Pitcher of the year. Yellow Jacket head coach Ray Hedrick was tabbed as State Coach of the Year.

Marcus Begg of Southern Virginia University received the State Rookie of the Year award.

The VaSID All-State teams are selected by sports information directors of member institutions of the Virginia Sports Information Directors across the Commonwealth of Virginia. VaSID, founded in 1983, selects teams in two divisions (University and College) for 12 sports and three single-division teams in addition to Academic All-State teams across all sports.


2016 VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Teams

Player of the Year: Travis Lodge, Randolph-Macon
Pitcher of the Year: James Walsh, Randolph-Macon
Rookie of the Year: Marcus Begg, Southern Virginia
Coach of the Year: Ray Hedrick, Randolph-Macon
First Team
C - James Keller, Mary Washington
1B - Connor Henderson, Christopher Newport
2B - Joe Tomasulo, Lynchburg
3B - Travis Lodge, Randolph-Macon
SS - Brandon Kussmaul, Virginia Wesleyan
OF - Abel Arocho, Shenandoah
OF - Kenner Berry, Bridgewater
OF - Tommy Vitaletti, Christopher Newport
DH - Jake Loew, Shenandoah
UTL - Rick Spiers, Randolph-Macon
SP - Tom Concklin, Washington & Lee
SP - Jake Perkins, Ferrum
SP - Michael Scimanico, Shenandoah
SP - James Walsh, Randolph-Macon
RP - Phil Morse, Shenandoah
RP - Hunter Peck, Ferrum
     Second Team
C - Mitchell Keeler, Randolph-Macon
1B - Stephen Johnston, Mary Washington
2B - Keith Roberts, Christopher Newport
3B - Marcus Begg, Southern Virginia
SS - Lee Carneal, Hampden-Sydney
OF - Brian Goodwyn, Hampden-Sydney
OF - Brandon Lineberry, Emory & Henry
OF - Mitch Moynihan, Mary Washington
DH - Nick Maiolo, Randolph-Macon
UTIL - Ty Lighton, UVA-Wise
SP - Taylor Gomer, The Apprentice School
SP - Colin Morse, Shenandoah
SP - T.J. Viracola, Averett
RP - Danny Devereux, Washington & Lee
RP - Dylan Gonzales, Hampden-Sydney