Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Football Sees Three Named To All-South Region Third Team

Emory & Henry Football Sees Three Named To All-South Region Third Team

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Three players from the Emory & Henry College Football Team have been selected to the 2016 All-South Region Third Team, officials announced Monday. Senior corner Tre'von Lightfoot (Big Island, Va.), senior offensive guard McFarland Murph (West Columbia, S.C.) and sophomore defensive end Da'von Keith (Columbia, S.C.) add the all-region honor to their All-ODAC First Team selection from last month.

It is the second year in a row that Emory & Henry has been represented on the All-South Region Team and is the first time in program history that three Wasps have received all-region laurels from the publication.

Lightfoot becomes the second E&H player to be named All-South Region twice as he was also named to the third team in 2015. He picked off three passes, broke up five more, returned an interception 100 yards for a touchdown and made 39 tackles. Lightfoot finishes his career with nine interceptions, three defensive touchdowns, 22 passes broken up and 126 total tackles.

Murph earns his first all-region award after back-to-back All-ODAC First Team selections. He led the Wasps' offensive line which blocked for an average of 214 rushing yards per game and protected passers by allowing just 10 sacks on the season (2.6% of passing plays). For his career, E&H averaged 174 rushing yards per games and scored a total of 76 rushing touchdowns.

Keith burst onto the scene, putting up top 10 marks across Division III for tackles for loss and sacks during the season. He was named to the All-ODAC First Team with 23 tackles for loss, 12 sacks, a forced fumble and 66 total tackles. He led the league in both tackles for loss and sacks, and was the top tackler among defensive linemen in the conference.

With the all-region accolades, Lightfoot, Murph and Keith are now eligible to receive All-America honors from Click HERE view the full All-Region Teams.


-photo courtesy of Dave Grace