Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Football Receives Five All-State Honors From VaSID

-photo courtesy of Taylor Jefferson
-photo courtesy of Taylor Jefferson

BRIDGEWATER, Va. – The Emory & Henry College Football Team has seen five of its players named all-state by the Virginia Sports Information Directors, VaSID officials announced Monday. The Wasps completed the 2016 season with a 6-4 record and a 5-2 mark in the ODAC, tying them for second place in the standings.

On the All-State College Division First Team, senior offensive guard McFarland Murph (West Columbia, S.C.) and sophomore defensive end Da'von Keith (Columbia, S.C.) make it a trio of awards as they were both tabbed to the All-ODAC First Team and All-South Region Third Team.

Senior corner Tre'von Lightfoot (Big Island, Va.) led the way for Emory & Henry on the all-state second team after taking home all-conference and all-region accolades. Senior linebacker Rhasheen Williams (Charlotte, N.C.) and junior offensive tackle Grayson Williams (Martin, Ga.) earn all-state second-team accolades after being named to the All-ODAC First and Second Teams, respectively.

Taylor Loudan of Christopher Newport University was the Offensive Player of the Year while Zachary Blair of the University of Virginia’s College at Wise was the Defensive Player of the Year. Rookie of the Year honors went to Ferrum College’s Brian Mann (Offensive) and Southern Virginia University’s Neil Davis (Defensive). Randolph-Macon College’s Pedro Arruza was tabbed as Coach of the Year.            

The VaSID All-State teams are selected by sports information directors of member institutions of the Virginia Sports Information Directors across the Commonwealth of Virginia. VaSID, founded in 1983, selects teams in two divisions (University and College) for 12 sports and three single-division teams in addition to Academic All-State teams across all sports.



Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor Loudan, Christopher Newport 
Defensive Player of the Year: Zachary Blair, UVA-Wise
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Brian Mann, Ferrum 
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Neil Davis, Southern Virginia 
Coach of the Year: Pedro Arruza, Randolph-Macon 

All-State First Team

All-State Second Team

Offense   Offense
QB- Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah
QB- K.J. Kearney, Christopher Newport 
RB- Tre Frederick, Randolph-Macon 
RB- Sean Bowman, Averett 
RB- Brian Mann, Ferrum 
RB- Cedrick Delaney, Shenandoah 
WR- Taylor Loudan, Christopher Newport 
WR- Owen Costello, Hampden-Sydney 
WR- Terrance Owens II, Averett 
WR- Michael Ashwell, Shenandoah 
TE- Keith Jennings, Bridgewater 
TE- Steven Quinn, Randolph-Macon 
OL- Michael LaSala, Washington and Lee 
OL- Jake Comer, Averett 
OL- Colin Moog, Christopher Newport 
OL- Jack Howerton, Bridgewater 
OL- McFarland Murph, Emory & Henry 
OL- Hunter Clemons, Randolph-Macon 
OL- Greg Castle, Randolph-Macon 
OL- Grayson Williams, Emory & Henry 
OL- Chris Osier, Washington and Lee 
OL- Scott Fahey, Christopher Newport 

Defense   Defense
DL- Cole Burdette, Randolph-Macon 
DL- Chris Coggins, Christopher Newport 
DL- Da'von Keith, Emory & Henry 
DL- Jake Pinkston, Randolph-Macon 
DL- Montel Lee, Ferrum 
DL- Xavier Strothers, Randolph-Macon 
DL- Ryan Ransom, The Apprentice School
DL- Dejon Brooks, Averett 
LB- Zachary Blair, UVA-Wise
LB- Davey Hardesty, Bridgewater 
LB- Max Garrett, Washington and Lee 
LB- Logan O'Neill, Randolph-Macon 
LB- Brennan Gary, Christopher Newport 
LB- Rhasheen Williams, Emory & Henry 
CB- Will Dyson, Washington and Lee 
CB- Tyriek Able, Averett 
CB- Isaac Evans, Bridgewater 
CB- Tre'von Lightfoot, Emory & Henry 
S- Neil Davis, Southern Virginia 
S- Malik Sims, Shenandoah 
S- Eric Long, Randolph-Macon 
S- Marcus Mitchell, Randolph-Macon 

Specialists   Specialists
PK- Seth Yurgel, Randolph-Macon 
PK- Matt Underhill, Washington and Lee 
P- Jordan Chalkley, Hampden-Sydney 
P- Christian Arias, Shenandoah 
RS- Travis Jones, Averett 
RS- Jalen Hudson, Shenandoah