Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Men's Basketball Sees Two Named To All-ODAC Teams

Emory & Henry Men's Basketball Sees Two Named To All-ODAC Teams

SALEM, Va. – The Emory & Henry College Men's Basketball Team has seen two of its players selected to the 2017 All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference Teams, ODAC officials announced Wednesday. It marks the first time since the 1998-99 season that the Wasps have had multiple players honored by the league. The All-ODAC teams are selected by the conference's 12 head coaches.

Freshman guard Colin Molden (Apex, N.C.) has been selected as the ODAC Rookie of the Year and becomes the second player in program history to win the award. Jason Light, the only other Wasp to be recognized as the league's top freshman, received the honor for the 1994-95 season.

The Apex High School graduate has played in 23 games this season, starting three, and averaged 12.6 points, 3.0 assists, 2.3 rebounds and 1.8 steals. Molden's scoring and steal numbers lead the team and he has reached double figures in scoring 14 times. He scored a season-best 28 points at Johnson University on December 7 which propelled him to being named ODAC Men's Basketball Player of the Week.

Emory & Henry also saw senior guard Myles Turner (Richmond, Va.) selected to the All-ODAC Second Team. It is the third year in a row that Turner has been recognized as an all-league performer and puts him in the company of Kevin Brown, Justin Call, Stan Eggleston and Leon Hill as the only players to receive all-conference recognition on three different occasions.

Turner started all 22 games in which he has played this year and has averaged 11.5 points per game with 17 contests of 10 points or more. He is also averaging 3.9 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.5 steals per contest. Turner's season-high of 18 points came in the Wasps' road victory over No. 16 Virginia Wesleyan College on November 26.  His 1320 career points ranks seventh all-time in E&H history.

The #3 Wasps will take on sixth-seeded Roanoke College on Thursday at 8:00 p.m., in the ODAC Tournament Quarterfinals. RC defeated E&H by a 77-65 score on Wednesday, January 25 at the Cregger Center on the Roanoke campus.



Kurt Axe Memorial Player of the Year: Zack Burnett, Sr., G, Lynchburg
Bob Johnson Coach of the Year: Tom Palombo, Guilford
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Colin Molden, Fr., G, Emory & Henry
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Zachary Houston, Sr., G., Guilford
All-ODAC First Team
Zack Burnett Sr. G Lynchburg
Malcolm Clark Sr. G Shenandoah
Carson Long So. F Guilford
Khory Moore Sr. G Virginia Wesleyan
Clayton Murtha Jr. F Washington and Lee
Michael Taylor Sr. F Randolph-Macon
All-ODAC Second Team
John Caldwell So. F Roanoke
Andy Kleinlein Sr. G Washington and Lee
C.J. Miles So. G Roanoke
Daniel Noe Jr. F Randolph-Macon
Connor Schroeder So. F Lynchburg
Myles Turner Sr. G Emory & Henry
All-ODAC Third Team
Jake Duncan Sr. G Hampden-Sydney
Ryan Fields Jr. G Randolph
Zachary Houston Sr. G Guilford
Tim Jones Sr. G Virginia Wesleyan
RaShawn Latimer Jr. G Eastern Mennonite
Alston Thompson So. F Guilford