skip navigation

Emory & Henry Softball Announces Schedule For The 2017 Season

Emory & Henry Softball Announces Schedule For The 2017 Season

EMORY, Va. - The Emory & Henry College Softball Team, under fourth-year Head Coach Tommy Forrester has announced its slate of games for 2017. The Wasps will play 40 regular season contests across 20 dates, with eight doubleheaders on the E&H campus.

Emory & Henry will open the season on the weekend of Saturday, February 18 and Sunday, February 19 at the Piedmont Classic with four games. The Wasps are set to take on Piedmont College, Millsaps College and Greensboro College.

E&H will host a weekend of games on Saturday, March 4 and Sunday, March 5 as Marietta College and Oberlin College visit Southwest Virginia. Each team will play split doubleheaders against the other two for a four-game weekend. The Wasps are set to face Marietta on Saturday at noon and Sunday at 2:00 p.m., while they will take on Oberlin Saturday at 2:00 p.m., and Sunday at noon.

On Friday, March 10 Emory & Henry is scheduled to host Salem College at 2:00 p.m., before traveling to Cocoa Beach, Florida for six games over Spring Break. The Wasps will compete in the Space Coast College Softball Spring Training Tournament.

After returning from Spring Break, Emory & Henry jumps into Old Dominion Athletic Conference play. First up for the Wasps is a trip to face the Royals of Eastern Mennonite University on Saturday, March 25 and the Bridgewater College Eagles on Sunday, March 26.

E&H's first home ODAC games will be on the weekend of Saturday, April 1 and Sunday, April 2 when it hosts Virginia Wesleyan College and Randolph-Macon College, respectively. The doubleheader against the Marlins will serve as the Wasps' annual Light It Up Blue Day in support of autism research.

Home doubleheaders against Roanoke College (Weds., April 5), Sweet Briar College (Sat., April 15) and Lynchburg College (Sat., April 22) also highlight the schedule.

The 2017 ODAC Tournament is set for the weekend of Friday, April 28 through Sunday, April 30 at the James I. Moyer Sports Complex in Salem, Virginia. The top eight teams from the regular season will qualify for the tournament.

The 2017 E&H Softball Schedule can be found by clicking HERE.

---E&H---

-photo courtesy of Caleb Johnston, E&H '15