Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Women’s Basketball No. 8 In First NCAA Division III South Region Rankings Of The Year

Emory & Henry Women’s Basketball No. 8 In First NCAA Division III South Region Rankings Of The Year

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Emory & Henry College Women's Basketball Team holds the number eight spot in this season's first NCAA Division III South Region Rankings, NCAA officials announced Wednesday. E&H is one of four Old Dominion Athletic Conference schools with teams ranked in the top nine regionally.

Emory & Henry (15-6, 9-4 ODAC) has won six of its last eight games and is currently sitting in third place in the ODAC standings. It is the first time since February 19, 2002 that the Wasps have been regionally recognized. E&H, fifth in that poll, was ranked in three of the five periods for the 2001-02 season.

The University of Texas-Tyler is the top team in this region this week with a 21-1 overall record and an 18-1 in-division mark. Guilford College is second while Maryville (Tenn.) College rounds out the top three.

Lynchburg College, Trinity (Texas) University, Birmingham-Southern College, Hendrix College and Eastern Mennonite University round out the list.

Emory & Henry is set to travel to Averett University on Thursday at 7:00 p.m., for a non-conference matchup with the Cougars. The Wasps will step back into league play on Saturday, traveling to Shenandoah for a 4:00 p.m., contest.


NCAA Division III South Region Rankings 

1.  Texas-Tyler                                  
2.  Guilford*                                     
3.  Maryville (Tenn.)                                     
4.  Lynchburg*                                 
5.  Trinity (Texas)                                                           
6.  Birmingham-Southern                                          
7.  Hendrix                                             
8.  Emory & Henry*                        
9.  Eastern Mennonite*                                                               

* denotes Old Dominion Athletic Conference school