Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Men’s Basketball Releases 2019-20 Schedule

Crowd cheering at a basketball game

EMORY, Va. – The Emory & Henry College Men's Basketball Team and Head Coach Ben Thompson have announced the schedule for the 2019-20 season. In addition to the ever-challenging Old Dominion Athletic Conference schedule, the Wasps have a strong non-conference slate this year, highlighted by a pair of tournaments which will provide an all-important strength of schedule boost for NCAA Division III Regional Rankings.

Highlighting the season is a trip to Wilmington, North Carolina to face UNC-Wilmington in the preliminary round of the D.C. Classic on Tuesday, November 26. That contest will be streamed live on FloHoops.com. Additionally, E&H will compete in the St. Pete Classic in St. Petersburg, Florida and the Captains Shootout, hosted by Christopher Newport University.

Fans will get their annual first look at the Wasps at the seventh annual Buzzmania celebration on Friday, October 25 at 7:00 p.m. The event, co-hosted by the E&H Men's & Women's Basketball Teams, will take place at the John Rutledge King Center.

RELATED 2019-20 Schedule | 2018-19 Statistics

"We are really excited about our schedule this year," said Thompson. "The opportunity to take our guys to Florida, as well as compete against a Division I opponent, will provide great experiences for our team."

E&H opens the season with a home contest against Keystone College on Saturday, November 9 at 2:00 p.m. After visiting Transylvania University (Fri., Nov. 15) a pair of home games await the Wasps against Marietta College (Wed., Nov. 20; 5:30 p.m.) and Maryville (Tenn.) College (Sat., Nov. 23; 2:00 p.m.). The matchup with the Scots will be a doubleheader with the Emory & Henry Women's Basketball Team.

Thanksgiving Week sees the Wasps make their trip to UNC-Wilmington on Tuesday and open ODAC play at Shenandoah University on Saturday, November 30. After stepping out of league action on Tuesday, December 3 to visit The University of the South, Emory & Henry closes the fall semester by hosting Bridgewater College (Sat., Dec. 7; 2:00 p.m.).

The Christmas Break time gives E&H the opportunity to face opponents from the national scene. The St. Pete Classic has Calvin College (Thu., Dec. 19) and Skidmore College (Sat., Dec. 21) on the schedule. At the Captains Shootout, the Wasps will open play against Wesley College (Sat., Dec. 28) and conclude the event against either host-CNU or Bethany College (Sun., Dec. 29).

"We have added some new regional rivalries and are revisiting some older ones as well," added Thompson. "But the biggest excitement about our schedule comes from playing in the best conference in the country every night. The ODAC is such a great league; it is an exciting time to be a Wasp!"

Following the start of the New Year, Emory & Henry jumps into the heart of the ODAC season with a visit from Randolph-Macon College on Saturday, January 4 (2:00 p.m.) in the first game of a league doubleheader. Other home contests in January are Guilford College (Wed., Jan 15; 7:00 p.m.), University of Lynchburg (Sat., Jan. 18; 2:00 p.m.) and Washington and Lee University (Wed., Jan. 29; 7:00 p.m.). The contest with the Hornets will also be part of a doubleheader with the E&H women.

The Wasps play three of their final five regular season games - including the last two contests - at home. E&H hosts Roanoke College on Wednesday, February 5 and Virginia Wesleyan University on Saturday, February 15. Emory & Henry will celebrate Senior Day on Saturday, February 22 with a doubleheader when it hosts Shenandoah at 2:00 p.m.

The 2020 ODAC Tournament will begin on Tuesday, February 25 with first round games taking place at the seventh and eighth seeds. The quarterfinals will be held on Friday, February 28 while the semifinals and championship with be on Saturday, February 29 and Sunday, March 1, respectively at the Salem Civic Center.

---E&H---