Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emory & Henry Men's & Women's Tennis Receive ITA Academic Honors

ITA All-Academic Awards graphic

TEMPE, Ariz. – The Emory & Henry College Men's and Women's Tennis Teams have seen eight players named Scholar-Athletes by Intercollegiate Tennis Association, ITA officials announced recently. Additionally, the E&H women were named an ITA All-Academic Team.

ITA Scholar-Athletes must be a varsity letterwinner and carry at least a 3.50 grade point average (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year. Additionally each student-athlete must be enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters. To be an ITA All-Academic Team, the cumulative team grade point average must exceed 3.20 for the current academic year.

Emory & Henry women selected as ITA Scholar-Athletes were seniors Katie Meade (Coeburn, Va.), Bri Pierce (Purlear, N.C.), Kaitlyn Sheaves (Staunton, Va.) and Tessa Johnston (High Point, N.C.); and freshmen Logan Graham (Radford, Va.) and Cailie Pollard (Rural Retreat, Va.). Across the Old Dominion Athletic Conference, there were 34 individuals recognized and five teams which earned the All-Academic Team moniker.

RELATED – ITA NCAA Division III Women's All-Academic Team & Student-Athletes

On the men's side, juniors Staymon Johnson (Pilot Mountain, N.C.) and Cooper Garrett (Gate City, Va.) picked up ITA Scholar-Athlete honors. The ODAC saw one men's team and 11 individuals recognized league-wide.

RELATED – ITA NCAA Division III Men's All-Academic Team & Student-Athletes

The ITA is the governing body of college tennis, and oversees men's and women's varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men's and women's varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court.