Four Emory & Henry Men’s Tennis Players Selected To All-ODAC Teams

FOREST, Va. - The Emory & Henry College Men's Tennis Team received four selections on the 2012 All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference Teams, ODAC officials announced today. The all-conference teams are selected by the league's 10 head coaches.

Juniors Matt Nelson (Galax, Va.) and Adam Henderson (Abingdon, Va.) were named to the All-ODAC First Team after a perfect 9-0 in-conference mark at number one doubles. The pair went 17-2 overall on the season.

Senior Chip Wintringham (Burlington, N.C.) took home Second-Team All-ODAC honors at number two singles after going 7-2 in league play and 15-5 through the season.

Wintringham and senior Mike Young (Lawrenceville, Ga.) were selected to the all-league second team for their work at the second doubles flight. The duo went 6-1 in ODAC contests and were 14-2 overall.

As a team, Emory & Henry finished the 2012 season with a 15-7 record and a 6-3 mark in conference action. The Wasps finished fourth in the league and reached the ODAC Tournament semifinals for the second straight year.




All-ODAC First Team
#1 Singles:
Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
#1 Singles: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
#2 Singles: Taylor Shamshiri, Fr., Washington and Lee
#2 Singles: Turner Votipka, Fr., Guilford
#3 Singles: Jeremy Becht, Sr., Washington and Lee
#4 Singles: Michael Freeman, Sr., Washington and Lee
#5 Singles: Christopher Hu, Fr., Washington and Lee
#6 Singles: Ben Fass, Sr., Washington and Lee
#1 Doubles: Adam Henderson (Jr.)/Matt Nelson (Jr.), Emory & Henry
#2 Doubles: Taylor Shamshiri (Fr.)/Hayden White (Jr.), Washington and Lee
#3 Doubles: Jeremy Becht (Sr.)/Christopher Hu (Fr.), Washington and Lee

All-ODAC Second Team
#1 Singles:
Tyler Mercier, So., Guilford
#2 Singles: Chip Wintringham, Sr., Emory & Henry
#3 Singles: Clayton Hamilton, Sr., Guilford
#4 Singles: Evan Stack, Fr., Bridgewater
#5 Singles: Christian Lynn, Fr., Bridgewater
#6 Singles: Sam Churchill, So., Bridgewater
#1 Doubles: Evan Stack (Fr.)/Brandon Larsen (Fr.), Bridgewater
#2 Doubles: Chip Wintringham (Sr.)/Mike Young (Sr.), Emory & Henry
#3 Doubles: Mike Cable (Fr.)/Brent Floyd (Sr.), Bridgewater

All-ODAC Third Team
#1 Singles:
Peter Hawkins, Jr., Bridgewater
#2 Singles: Brandon Larsen, Fr., Bridgewater
#3 Singles: Brent Floyd, Sr., Bridgewater
#4 Singles: Ryan Davis, Sr., Hampden-Sydney
#5 Singles: Frank Donnelly, Sr., Randolph-Macon
#6 Singles: Joe Cox, Jr., Randolph-Macon
#1 Doubles: Kevin Calhoun (Sr.)/Ian Sammler (Sr.), Hampden-Sydney
#2 Doubles: Peter Hawkins (Jr.)/Christian Lynn (Fr.), Bridgewater
#3 Doubles: Franklin Bowers (Jr.)/Ryan Davis (Sr.), Hampden-Sydney

ODAC Co-Player of the Year: Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
ODAC Co-Player of the Year: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Wayne Vaughn, Randolph-Macon
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Mederick Ceril, Jr., Randolph-Macon
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Hayden White, Jr., Washington and Lee
Team Sportsmanship Award: Randolph-Macon College